Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Newberry Medal Award Winners 1922-Present

Yesterday's post was about The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate which is a Newberry Honor book, and it got me wondering about what books have won the Newberry Medal over the years.

The Newberry Award is given out each year by the Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.  You can visit their website and check out the entire list of winners yourself by clicking HERE.

The very first book ever given the Newberry Medal was The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loot in 1922.

Source:  http://www.uri.edu/library/cml/resources/newbery.html

The latest book awarded the Newberry Medal was Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool in 2011.

Source:  Goodreads

I've read five books that have won the Newberry Medal:

Shilioh by Phyllis Reynolds won the award in 1992.

Source:  Goodreads

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia Maclachlan won the award in 1986.

Source:  Goodreads

Sounder by William H. Armstrong won the award in 1970.

Source:  Goodreads

A Wrinkle in Time by Meleleine L'Engle won the award in 1963.

Source:  Goodreads

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell won the award in 1961.

Source:  Goodreads

No comments:

Post a Comment